Calls drop when driving or walking; Fizz not being helpful

Options
Warren L. #31784
Warren L. #31784 Posts: 22 ✭✭
edited January 19 in My Mobile

Hi All,

My phone calls drop all the time when I am driving or walking. I brought the issue to Fizz, who asked me to do all of the basic troubleshooting (restart phone, reseat SIM, reset network) and then asked me to do more extensive testing (like change the network to Fizz EXT) and try my SIM card in a different.

I could do all of the testing except try the SIM card in a different phone (because I only had one phone). Over christmas I got a new phone, put the SIM card from my existing phone in, and I have the same problem. To me this means it's the SIM card or something on Fizz's end related to the SIM card (I'm not a telco expert mind you).

Because my calls are still dropping with my new phone using the old SIM card, I brought the issue back to Fizz. Fizz told me to switch to Fizz EXT and then report each instance when the call drops.

Is it me, or is this really not customer friendly? I pushed back and asked just to replace the SIM card and was told I need to do these tests so that the issue can be escalated, but that I can buy a SIM card myself and try. Again, not customer friendly at all.

Given the troubleshooting already done and replacing my phone entirely (iPhone 15 replaced iPhone SE 3rd gen), and that I gave my old phone to my wife who does not have any problems with call dropping, that tells me it's the SIM card.

Fizz support is being polite but totally unhelpful and not understand that I'm a customer who wants reliable service. They are making me jump through many hoops which are increasingly inconvenient or difficult to action. Despite that Fizz is best for tech-savvy people, it seems like they think their customers have all the time in the world to perform troubleshooting and don't realize they are providing a critical service in day-to-day life.