If you are going down to the USA, PLEASE download NETWORK SIGNAL INFO

ah727
ah727 Posts: 805 ✭✭
edited October 2022 in Break Room

At least you will know what's going on out there!

This free Android PlayStore shows you what network you are connected to, whether it's 4G, 3G, or 2G; what frequency band you are connected to, for VOICE or DATA, as well as other information, such as Signal strength, Tower location, and more (note: other apps are available and are also good, choose as you wish). And it's also very useful in Quebec, to see what frequency bands you connect here, and which ones you will be using in your US location.

In this post I will show you screenshots of different networks status in the USA and in Quebec.

LPAnd IMPORTANT: I'm not an expert, I've learned from testing and reading. So if you can help me out, feel free to do so.

1. T-Mobile 2G network connection ( June 2022, Connecticut):

This is a T-Mobile GSM (2G) VOICE connection, with the 2G EDGE DATA connection. They come in pairs, and you can't be 2G for VOICE and 4G for DATA at the same time. Though not indicated, this is a band#2 1900Mhz connection (search Google for additional information), not the best for indoor reception, but it's one of the best available. T-Mobile says it will maintain 2G until January 2023, but has not yet confirmed a closing date.

AT&T used to have band#5 850Mhz which gave better coverage, especially indoors, but the AT&T 2G is gone since 2017, and 3G passed away March 2022.

I'm not sure how much T-Mobile 3G is still in use, probably not much.

Usually, lower frequency bands (below 1000Mhz) are better for indoors (but they are slower). This is why we are now seeing new 4G 700Mhz bands, which will be very useful for indoor VoLTE.

Answers

• ah727

What's going on in Quebec?

Here's a screenshot outdoors. I'm in Centre du Québec, that's on the south shore of Trois-Rivières. Please note, in other areas, mobile network status may be different.