LAN subnet change impossible?

Options
Adrian A. #25758
Adrian A. #25758 Posts: 32 ✭✭

Last night my modem stopped working (I suspect a new firmware was uploaded, I’ll explain in a minute why I a saying that).

This morning I’ve talked to a support agent about not being able to use the Internet and after a modem reset the service was back.

Nice, I thought in my mind... but no🙁

Since the modem was reset the subnet was also changed for the default 192.168.0.0/24 but I configured everything with another subnet 172.16.16.0/24 so I thought well, let’s change it... but no, as soon as I do the change the modem stops working, I mean no DHCP service no internet nothing. It is my right to use whatever private subnet I want so I want the functionality back (I am a net admin by the way so no networking classes necessary).

Fizz, your turn please!

Best Answer

• Serge O. #3665
    Serge O. #3665 Posts: 535 ✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi,

Why don t you put the modem in bridge mode and try to use your own wifi/router for your needs.

That way you wouldn't have all these problems :)

Answers

• Adrian A. #25758
    Options

The firmware version is 7.1.1.2.7b8

Did anyone has noticed this with the same firmware?

• Adrian A. #25758
    Options

Any news Fizz?

I have a network that I cannot use and quite a few AP, NAS devices and so on that I have to reconfigure just because you have a stupid firmware in your modem !?

Oh, as long as the client is paying us... we don’t care about the rest 😕

Your tech support told me “you should keep the new settings” but without being able to provide a LOGICAL explanation for why I was able to function without any issues for almost a year or so...

• Zenthar
    Zenthar Posts: 517 ✭✭
    Options